Sarah Koning named Eaglesham School Principal

The Peace Wapiti Public School Division announced last week the appointment of Sarah Koning as Principal of Eaglesham School.

Sarah Koning has been appointed Principal of Eaglesham School after serving as Acting Principal during the past school year.

Ms. Koning initially joined PWPSD in 2007 as a junior and senior high science and math teacher at Eaglesham School. During the 2013-2014 school year, she was an instructor in the Academic Upgrading Department at Grande Prairie Regional College, offering Biology 20 and 30-level courses to students seeking pre-requisites for post-secondary studies.

In 2014, she resumed her former role at Eaglesham School with an expanded science and math teaching assignment in addition to offering a junior high wildlife course.

She holds a Bachelor of Science from Concordia University of Edmonton and a Bachelor of Education in Secondary Education from the University of Alberta. She is a member of the ATA Science Council and continues to broaden her knowledge by participating in ATA science, math and leadership conferences.

She served on the province’s 2009 Chemistry Diploma Exam Assessment Team and was a member of the PWPSD Professional Learning Community to improve math and science instruction.

Ms. Koning’s successful grant applications have enhanced learning opportunities for Eaglesham School students, including new cameras supplied by a grant from the Petroleum Services Association of Canada and a scanning electron microscope on a week-long loan from the Centre for Mathematics, Science and Technology Education.

She regularly seeks opportunities to provide further development for youth through her involvement in the school’s science fair, students’ union, yearbook and graduation committees as well as as a judge for 4-H public speaking competitions.

PWPSD has also announced the following appointments for the 2020-2021 school year.

  • Andrew Lojczyc has been appointed Principal of Beaverlodge Elementary School, bringing nearly 20 years of school administration experience to the role.
  • Scott Bowen has been appointed Principal of Clairmont Community School, where he has served as Assistant Principal since 2017.
  • Peter Bailey has been appointed Principal of Wembley Elementary School.
  • Stacey Rey has been appointed Assistant Principal of Beaverlodge Elementary School.
  • Erika Walsh has been appointed Assistant Principal of Clairmont Community School following a year as Principal at Wembley Elementary School.
  • Katelan McBrearty has been appointed Assistant Principal of Whispering Ridge Community School.